The Stamping Ground area was founded in 1790, but it wasn’t incorporated as a city until January 24, 1834.

     Stamping Ground is a rural city located in Scott County, Kentucky, with the county seat being Georgetown.  The 2010 Population was 643. The 2020 census population increased to 834.

     Stamping Ground is governed under the Commission Style Government.  The Commission is composed of a Mayor and four Commissioners.  In the Commission form of government, all of the executive, administrative and legislative authority of the city is vested in and exercised by the city commission as a body.  Each Commissioner and the Mayor oversee one of the following departments, Police, Fire, Streets, Public Works, Economic Development and Finance and Administration.

Mayor Keith Murphy oversees the Fire Department, Finance, Administration.

David Clark is Commissioner of Economic Development and Mayor Pro Tem.

Commissioner Rob Jones oversees the Police Department.

Commissioner Jessie Zagaruyka oversees the Parks Department.

Commissioner Dale Perry oversees Streets and Public Works.

City Clerks are Reda Conn and Emily Helton