During the summer of 1867 baseball was introduced to Scott County. The Georgetown Times claimed that all the young men and boys had contracted “baseball fever.” By late July there were four baseball clubs in the county.
This was also the era of the bicycle. On December 1, 1880, it was announced that “The Stamp” can boast of a bicycle, owned by Mr. Al Duvall. Several young men who tried to ride it came to grief as it proved to be ‘unbroke and hard to manage’.